Getting to the Heart of Communication

Pomegranate tree with ripening fruit

We are unripe fruits in the radiance of Your sunlight, but what a dance we are throwing as You do the ripening.” ~Rumi

This is one of my favorite lines from Rumi. It brings me back to the conversation we have been having the last few days. Every action no matter how small makes a difference and and how many innumerable ramifications stem from the smallest of actions.

Going deeper into what it means to conversate, I find that to conversate is to actively participate in living. Our sight stem from God‘s Seeing and in the same way our living is a ramification of God Ever Being Present. To participate in life is to be a conduit. Between what? It seems that there is a constant back and form between mortality and immortality. Going back to Rumi:

A great mutual embrace is always happening between the eternal
and what dies, between essence and accident.

These are nice words but living isn’t about words, its not about reading books and scholarly essays. Those have there place but aren’t the raison d’etre of the human existence. Abu Said al Khair I believe has said that to be a sufi (which I define here as to be one who lives in truly a state of surrender) is to bleed. There must be blood he says again otherwise we are just reading books on Sufism/Surrender listening to songs about it.

To bleed for something is to participate, it is the ultimate act of participation and dedication. I think that’s the power behind the symbol of the Crucifixtion of Christ – he didn’t lecture us from the outside he entered our midst fully. From what I have studied I can say the same for the Prophet Mohammad, for Buddha, and for all the spiritual teachers that have come to give humanity the message.

To participate is to live the fragility and vulnerability of the human existence. Living is to immerse oneself with both the  Immanent and the Transcendental aspects of life, of Living, of being, of seeing. It is very easy to cut one’s self off from living. This can manifest in many many subtle ways. I still see this happen within myself. It is a diligent struggle to make sure one stays vigilant in having one’s feet firmly planted in the world of the day to day and in the inner world.

Spirituality and mystical practice as I have been reminded over and over again are not a substitute for medication, therapy etc. A huge part of the pafe is to work through our psychology. It is our duty to make sure we are healthy in all aspects. I always found in my observations of myself and others that when we are imbalanced our unhealthy our first or one of our first acts is to cut ourselves off from regular human contact and social participation. This was very significant for me to observe in myself when I went through therapy for depression.

To go back to the analogy of unripe fruit we don’t ripen in isolate. We ripening together. Ripening is communicating, reading the words of another is communicating even sitting in silence is communicating. What isn’t communicating ? I really see my deficiency in that my hearing isn’t subtle enough to catch what is being communicated.

Make everything in you an ear, each atom of your being, and you will hear at every moment what the Source is whispering to you, just to you and for you, without any need for my words or anyone else’s. You are—we all are—the beloved of the Beloved, and in every moment, in every event of your life, the Beloved is whispering to you exactly what you need to hear and know. Who can ever explain this miracle? It simply is. Listen and you will discover it every passing moment. Listen, and your whole life will become a conversation in thought and act between you and Him, directly, wordlessly, now and always.
– Rumi

Leave a Reply

